Oscar Predictions

As a year of cinema finally comes to a close tonight with the Academy Awards I thought I’d share my predictions for tonights show. Although there are a few missing due to not having seen many (or any) of the films in particular categories like Best Documentary I’ve done my best to predict them all. For each category you will see I’ve put I’d Like and I’m Expecting for my predictions, just to see how much money I would have won, had I actually bet on any this year. The only exception for this is Foreign Film, which the only one I’ve seen is Amour and there’s no way on earth I’d LIKE that to gain any recognition from the Academy.

Anyway rambling over, Scroll down and read for yourself and come back in the early hours of the morning to see the outcome! Also for the tweeters, feel free to follow me @movie_mad to see a live tweet along to the ceremony. Hopefully this year they won’t ban me for supposed Spam just as best Actress, Actor and Film are being announced…

Best Film:
I’d Like: Django Unchained
I’m expecting: Argo

Best Actress:
I’d like: Naomi Watts (The Impossible)
I’m expecting: Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)

Best Actor:
I’d like: Denzel Washington (Flight)
I’m expecting: Daniel Day Lewis (Lincoln)

Best Director:
I’d like: Ang Lee (Life of Pi)
I’m expecting: Steven Spielberg (Lincoln)

Best Supporting Actor:
I’d like: Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained)
I’m expecting: Christpoh Waltz (Django Unchained)

Best Supporting Actress:
I’d Like: Anne Hathaway (Les Miserablés)
I’m expecting: Anne Hathaway (Les Miserablés)

Best Foreign Film:
I’m expecting: Amour

Best Animated Film:
I’d Like: Brave
I’m Expecting: Brave

Music (Original Song)
I’d Like: Skyfall
I’m expecting: Skyfall

Adapted Screenplay:
I’d Like: Argo
I’m expecting: Argo

Original Screenplay:
I’d Like: Django Unchained
I’m Expecting: Django Unchained

Cinematography:
I’d Like: Skyfall
I’m expecting: Life of Pi

Costume Design
I’d like: Les Miserablés
I’m expecting: Les Miserablés

Film Editing:
I’d Like: Argo
I’m Expecting: Argo

Make-up and Hairstyling:
I’d like: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
I’m expecting: Les Miserablés

Production Design:
I’d like: Anna Karenina
I’m expecting: Les Miserablés

Short Film:
I’d Like: Paperman
I’m expecting: Paperman

Sound Editing:
I’d Like: Argo
I’m Expecting: Argo

Sound Mixing:
I’d like: Les Miserablés
I’m Expecting: Les Miserablés

Visual Effects:
I’d Like: Life of Pi
I’m Expecting: Life of Pi

Leave a Reply

