The Devil Inside

Before I begin I have to say that this probably won’t be an actual review. Instead it will be a warning, or a public service announcement if you will. Someone tried to warn me but I ignored them and saw this film anyway. An action which I believe I will regret to the end of my days.

The Devil Inside is a new found footage horror film (because apparently we don’t yet have enough) centred around exorcisms. The story is about Isabella Rossi, the daughter of Maria Rossi, who killed three people when Isabella was just a child. About twenty years later Isabella finds out that her mother killed these people during an exorcism. The whole film is set as a mockumentary as Isabella decides to visit Maria in Rome and find out more about her mother.

So, I’ll start with the good parts because believe it or not there are good parts to this film. Albeit only two. The scares are good. Not frequent enough but when they occur they do the job. And the performances are somewhat disturbing. The most notable of them being  Suzanne Crowly’s performance as Maria Rossi which at some points will send a shiver down your spine. But no matter how good the acting is I can 100% guarantee you that if you see this film you will leave disappointed.

For the whole 83 minutes of the film it’s almost as if the producers/directors etc don’t even know what type of film they are making. At some points it’s clearly a mockumentary with ‘interviews’ with Isabella and two priests she befriends. Yet at other times it’s a found footage film. And then there’s the end. I don’t want to spoil anything for you but I shall just leave you with this: When I saw this film it was the first time I’ve ever been in a cinema in which the whole audience left with the same feeling of their time having been wasted on such a pile of crap. How do I know they all felt like this? Because every single one of them booed after the frankly appalling ‘climax’ (for want of a better word). But don’t take my word for it. Take mine and everyone else who’s seen this film so far. If however you somehow find yourself trapped in a screening of this (or if, god forbid you watch it because you in fact WANT to) and find that you enjoyed it do leave a comment because quite frankly I can’t see this happening.

As the posters are saying, ‘this is the film the Vatican doesn’t want you to see’. And quite frankly I wholeheartedly agree.

1/5

Leave a Reply

