Moviemad’s Top 10 Films of 2011

Well as midnight strikes only one thing is certain to me. There will be absolutely no more films released in 2011. Which means I can crack on with my top 10 films released in the UK over the last 365 days.

10. Senna – The only documentary to feature in my top 10. I went into this film knowing absolutely nothing about Senna and came out wanting to know more. The whole film was put together brilliantly. Using no new footage whatsoever which helped you relive the moments. The story of Senna’s life was never slowed down and was kept entertaining and moving from beginning to end.

9. Bridesmaids – Easily the best comedy of the year. Kirsten Wiig was phenomenal and along with her co-stars, including the brilliant Mellissa McCarthy who stole the show with every appearance. This just proved that women can be equally as funny if not more funny than men. Basically the female Hangover, and I gotta say, I laughed a hell of a lot more in this than in either two of the Hangover films.

8. Warrior – Now most of you probably don’t think Warrior deserves a place in the top 10 but in my opinion it bloody well does! I don’t think I’ve ever been more emotional in a film than in this one. Maybe I’m a sucker for fighting/boxing films. It certainly seems that way. Either way I don’t care. All I know is that this film reduced me not only to tears but to sobs.

7. True Grit – Well this was no hard choice to make. It’s got The Dude in it, it’s directed by the Coen Brothers and it’s got one of the best soundtracks I’ve ever heard. Although it is a remake I wouldn’t compare this to the original at all. Both are brilliant in their own way and the Coen Brothers’ brilliance is mostly due to the superb casting of Jeff Bridges, a man who spends the majority of the film mumbling incoherently and yet still manages to show that he is a brilliant actor. Because to be quite honest it doesn’t matter what he says, you can get the gist of it throughout just by his stance.

6. X-Men: First Class – this was so close to getting into the top 5 but just missed out. It still deserves a place in the top 10 however for two main reasons. Michael Fassbender. And James MacAvoy. Fassbender just completely and utterly steals the show throughout. He looks sounds and feels like Magneto crossed with James Bond and it works wonderfully. A brilliant reboot to an already brilliant series. Roll on with the sequel and more brilliant bromance with MacAvoy and Fass.

5. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo – Well last year David Fincher created my favourite film of 2010, The Social Network. So when I found out he was going to be back again this year to say I was excited is an understatement. I was absolutely certain this would be my number 1. Unfortunately it isn’t. But it’s still good enough for the top 5. The opening credits alone made me put it in the list. But not just this. Fincher’s last film had my favourite actor of 2010, Jesse Eisenberg in it and this years film has my favourite actress of 2011 in it. If Rooney Mara doesn’t win an oscar for this brilliant performance I will fly to america slap every member of the academy until they see sense. It’s beyond me to think she won’t be nominated.

4. Hugo – What’s better than a magical kids film? A magical kids film directed by Martin Scorcese. He made this much more than just a kids film. He made it a love letter to film. With Chloe Moretz and Asa Butterfield’s brilliant chemistry not to mention the brilliant performances by Ben Kingsley, Sacha Baron Cohen and Christopher Lee’s wonderful cameo all mixed together with Scorcese’s wonderful filmmaking this just makes me proud to be a movie geek. The only downside was the 3D which I was assured would be completely surreal and change my mind about the moneymaking technique. However once you get past the pointlessness of the stereoscopy you will watch yet another Scorcese masterpiece.

3. The Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes – After watching all the original films practically back to back I was all geared up for what I was sure would be one of my favourite films of the year. And I was not disappointed. With Andy Serkis playing yet another cgi character (and leading me to believe he mustn’t like his face much) it is clear that he has progressed over the years. When he first started as Gollum in The Lord Of The Rings trilogy he was already good. Now, in RotPotA he proves that he can play anyone and anything. Surely he will finally get the appreciation he so rightly deserves at this years Oscars?

2. The Devil’s Double – 2011’s best actor by far. And we get to see him acting with himself! Only a truly gifted actor could play two complete opposites in the same film and Dominic Cooper has proved once and for all that he isn’t just eye candy for the ladies. I have therefore decided to forgive him for being in Mama Mia, a film which I haven’t even seen yet but still annoyed me with it’s constant screenings. More of this please Mr Cooper.

1. 127 Hours – I know it was released over a year ago in the States but over here it was released in January which means it can still be in my top 10. Easily the best film I’ve seen in the cinema, not just this year but of all time. James Franco has proved that he can carry a film pretty much all on his own and still leave me and the rest of the audience speechless. In all honesty it took me a good half an hour or so to finally be able to speak properly. So far this is the only film which has left me completely and utterly speechless even when the credits have finished rolling.

Leave a Reply

